HB 1988
bill letting TJJD release records with former youths’ consent
Companion SB 2776 became law
Verdict: No flags
Initial review · graded Oct 20, 2026 · Headline, summary and grade are analysis of the bill text, not a finding about any person · How we grade
Caption
relating to the disclosure of certain information by the Texas Juvenile Justice Department.
Caption from analyzed text · version I.
Summary
Only if discharged, at least 18, and consenting.
The bill lets the Texas Juvenile Justice Department release records about a person who was once committed to it, as long as that person has been discharged, is at least 18, and has consented. It touches former youth in state juvenile custody and the department that holds their files. Right now those records stay closed, but under this bill an adult former resident can authorize release of their own information for the purpose they choose, starting September 1, 2025.
Labels
Labels:
Receipt
The receipt
89R-HB1988 · 2025-01-22
SOLD BY
+ 2 coauthors
ITEM
relating to the disclosure of certain information by the Texas Juvenile Justice Department.
WHAT IT DOES
Only if discharged, at least 18, and consenting.
The bill lets the Texas Juvenile Justice Department release records about a person who was once committed to it, as long as that person has been discharged, is at least 18, and has consented. It touches former youth in state juvenile custody and the department that holds their files. Right now those records stay closed, but under this bill an adult former resident can authorize release of their own information for the purpose they choose, starting September 1, 2025.
CHARGES
[ ] NONE FOUND
TOTAL
No significant fiscal implication to the State is anticipated.
LBB estimate · fiscal note version I · source
Sources
Fiscal note · version I · March 25, 2025
No first-year general revenue figure available here.
LBB published estimates · flow over the stated periods.
Source snapshot 2026-10-19, Central time.
HISTORY
- Filed
- Read first time
- Referred to s/c on Juvenile Justice by Speaker
- Scheduled for public hearing in s/c on . . .
- Considered by s/c in public hearing
- Testimony taken/registration(s) recorded in subcommittee
- Left pending in subcommittee
- Recalled from subcommittee
- Considered in public hearing
- Reported favorably w/o amendment(s)
- Comte report filed with Committee Coordinator
- Committee report distributed
- Committee report sent to Calendars
- Considered in Calendars
- Placed on General State Calendar
- Read 2nd time
- Postponed 5/8/25 10:00 AM
- Companion considered in lieu of SB 2776
- Laid on the table subject to call
FILED UNDER
No verified beat found.
THANK YOU FOR CHECKING THE RECEIPT
CAMPAIGN PAID FOR BY
CAMPAIGN PAID FOR BY
Donors
Not tied to this bill.
Sources
The author's campaign account only. Own money and internal transfers are separate on the member page.
Derived itemized flow · Oct 28, 2024 to Jul 30, 2025. State data as of Nov 4, 2026.
Derived itemized contributions on live regular reports and uncovered special-session dates. Internal account transfers and daily reports are excluded.
Texans for Lawsuit Reform PAC$305,300.00
Texans for Lawsuit Reform PAC
$305,300.00
- Cash
- $305,000.00
- Paid by others
- $300.00
- Total
- $305,300.00
Also funds 124 other sitting lawmakers.
Derived recipient stock · Jul 10, 2024 to Oct 23, 2026. State data as of Nov 4, 2026.
TEC account match.
TeamSources
Derived itemized flow · Oct 29, 2024 to Jun 27, 2025. State data as of Nov 4, 2026.
Derived itemized contributions on live regular reports and uncovered special-session dates. Internal account transfers and daily reports are excluded.
Report IDs: 100977051, 101012920.
Greg Abbott Campaign$91,570.37
Greg Abbott Campaign
$91,570.37
- Cash
- $0.00
- Paid by others
- $91,570.37
- Total
- $91,570.37
Also funds 9 other sitting lawmakers.
Derived recipient stock · Oct 29, 2024 to Sep 2, 2026. State data as of Nov 4, 2026.
Name match, not a verified identity: normalized filed name and state.
TeamSources
Derived itemized flow · Oct 29, 2024 to Nov 13, 2024. State data as of Nov 4, 2026.
Derived itemized contributions on live regular reports and uncovered special-session dates. Internal account transfers and daily reports are excluded.
Report IDs: 100977051.
Dealon, LLC$25,000.00
Dealon, LLC
$25,000.00
- Cash
- $25,000.00
- Paid by others
- $0.00
- Total
- $25,000.00
Also funds 4 other sitting lawmakers.
Derived recipient stock · Oct 28, 2024 to Sep 23, 2026. State data as of Nov 4, 2026.
Name match, not a verified identity: normalized filed name and state.
Sources
Derived itemized flow · on Oct 30, 2024. State data as of Nov 4, 2026.
Derived itemized contributions on live regular reports and uncovered special-session dates. Internal account transfers and daily reports are excluded.
Report IDs: 100977051.
Missing data does not establish zero giving. Display amounts are rounded.
Texans for Lawsuit Reform PAC
$305,300.00
- Cash
- $305,000.00
- Paid by others
- $300.00
- Total
- $305,300.00
Also funds 124 other sitting lawmakers.
Derived recipient stock · Jul 10, 2024 to Oct 23, 2026. State data as of Nov 4, 2026.
TEC account match.
TeamSources
Derived itemized flow · Oct 29, 2024 to Jun 27, 2025. State data as of Nov 4, 2026.
Derived itemized contributions on live regular reports and uncovered special-session dates. Internal account transfers and daily reports are excluded.
Report IDs: 100977051, 101012920.
Greg Abbott Campaign
$91,570.37
- Cash
- $0.00
- Paid by others
- $91,570.37
- Total
- $91,570.37
Also funds 9 other sitting lawmakers.
Derived recipient stock · Oct 29, 2024 to Sep 2, 2026. State data as of Nov 4, 2026.
Name match, not a verified identity: normalized filed name and state.
TeamSources
Derived itemized flow · Oct 29, 2024 to Nov 13, 2024. State data as of Nov 4, 2026.
Derived itemized contributions on live regular reports and uncovered special-session dates. Internal account transfers and daily reports are excluded.
Report IDs: 100977051.
Dealon, LLC
$25,000.00
- Cash
- $25,000.00
- Paid by others
- $0.00
- Total
- $25,000.00
Also funds 4 other sitting lawmakers.
Derived recipient stock · Oct 28, 2024 to Sep 23, 2026. State data as of Nov 4, 2026.
Name match, not a verified identity: normalized filed name and state.
Sources
Derived itemized flow · on Oct 30, 2024. State data as of Nov 4, 2026.
Derived itemized contributions on live regular reports and uncovered special-session dates. Internal account transfers and daily reports are excluded.
Report IDs: 100977051.
Votes
No floor vote loaded for this bill.
Witnesses6
- For
- 4
- Against
- 0
- On
- 2
Names
For
- Juvenile Rights1 registration
- Juvenile rights1 registration
- Self1 registration
- Texas Civil Rights Project1 registration
On
- Self; Texas center for justice & equity1 registration
- Texas Juvenile Justice Department1 registration
Sources
6 parsed registrations across the loaded witness lists.
Derived stock of witness registrations. Repeated appearances count separately. Organizations and self-representation appear as printed.
House witness list. Source snapshot 2026-10-20, Central time.
Fiscal
No significant fiscal implication to the State is anticipated.
LBB estimate · fiscal note version I · source
Sources
Fiscal note · version I · March 25, 2025
No first-year general revenue figure available here.
LBB published estimates · flow over the stated periods.
Source snapshot 2026-10-19, Central time.
How this was graded
Analysis of text version I by claude-opus-5-5, Oct 20, 2026, against the published rubric.
Sources
Texas House · Filed Jan 22, 2025
05/08/2025 H Laid on the table subject to call
Texas Legislature Online · Introduced · House Committee Report
Data snapshot Oct 26, 2026 at 4:20 AM CDT. Grades, charges, quotes and corrections follow the published record.
House committee · Criminal Jurisprudence · Committee vote 11 aye, 0 nay · Out of committee
Companion
SB 2776 by Hinojosa, Adam (identical)
Subjects
Minors--Juvenile Justice
Protection of Personal Information
JUVENILE JUSTICE DEPARTMENT, TEXAS
Text
The text as introduced · 211 words
89R9626 CJD-D By: Lujan H.B. No. 1988 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT relating to the disclosure of certain information by the Texas Juvenile Justice Department. BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: SECTION 1. Section 244.003, Human Resources Code, is amended by amending Subsection (b) and adding Subsection (c) to read as follows: (b) Except as provided by Section 243.051(c), these records and all other information concerning a child, including personally identifiable information, are not public and are available only according to the provisions of Subsection (c) of this section, Section 58.005, Family Code, Section 244.051 of this code, and Chapter 67, Code of Criminal Procedure. (c) The department may disclose information concerning a person who was committed to the department, including personally identifiable information, if: (1) the person: (A) has been discharged from commitment by the department; (B) is at least 18 years of age; and (C) has given consent for the department to disclose the information; and (2) the department does not disclose any information for which the person did not consent to disclosure and does not disclose any information for a purpose other than the purpose for which the person consented to disclosure. SECTION 2. This Act takes effect September 1, 2025.



